Mac Whirl & Velvet Teddy: Worth The Hype?

Mac Whirl Lip Liner and Mac Velvet Teddy Mac Whirl Lip Liner and Mac Velvet Teddy Mac Whirl Lip Liner and Mac Velvet Teddy

(Left: Velvet Teddy. Right: Whirl)

2014 in the make-up world was the year of the Kylie Jenner lip. Make-up lovers ventured on a hunt to recreate her big, pillowy nude lips, drifting between pink, to mauve, to brown. Mac counters were swarmed, and many lipsticks and liners went out of stock for months at a time.

I managed to pick up Velvet Teddy pretty quickly which has become my all-time favourite lipstick. I wear it practically everyday, it’s brown tones suit me perfectly. Despite an array on dupes being promoted over Pinterest, Instagram and blogs – non have ever compared to this. It’s matte formula promises to stay on my lips and require little touch up – not only lasting a long time but fading evenly. If you’re lips are very dry I find it can highlight it a little but this is expected with matte formulas. Absolutely love – so much that I’m on my second tube! Worth the hype.

Getting my hands on the Whirl lipstick took a whole while longer and the email to say it was back in stock was a sigh of relief. It is described as ‘dusty pink’ which I do not find to be true – it is definitely much browner and more purple. Used as a lip liner – it does exactly what it says on the tin, defining and a little over lining can cheat a set of big lips, but part of the appeal of this liner was that you could wear it on it’s own all over the lip to recreate the iconic look – but I actually find it very difficult to wear this way. I find it very drying and it makes your lips look wrinkly and just not attractive, for me at least. I have actually found better alternatives for the Kylie Jenner lip in the drugstore – such as Rimmel 1000 Kisses Lipliner in Tiramisu which is quite brown, or if you prefer something a little more true to mauve/dusty pink there is the Rimmel Exaggerate Lip Liner in Eastend Snob, which I absolutely love. Both, particularly the latter, have much less drying formulas and are a lot easy on the purse. Whirl is not worth the hype.

Have you tried any of these products? How do you feel about them? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Mac Whirl & Velvet Teddy: Worth The Hype?

Leave a Reply

