Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

The Beauty Flash Balm promises to be a little bit of everything all in one – a lightweight moisturizer, a mask, a primer. This super hyped little balm was supposed to cure all your skincare woes in, well, a flash.

This heavily floral scented, peach coloured gel promises to add radiance, brighten, tighten and give you a youthful glow.

At first I wasn’t really sure what to do with this product, I was worried about using it as a primer as it’s super watery texture had me convinced it was going to cause my make-up to slide off my face. And it was such a hugely hyped product, and I had such a tiny bottle, I didn’t want to slap it on my face for a mask – worried if I loved it I would lose it, much too quickly for my liking. It sat in my drawer not getting much attention, then I realised I just needed to dive in and give it a go.

Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

As a primer, I found it very hard to just apply a thin layer and leave it alone. It’s texture reminded me of many day moisterisers I have used and so the urge to massage the product into my skin was huge. If you allow it to sit on your skin, it makes your foundation glide on top, preventing it from sinking into lines, pores or clinging to dry patches, and seems to prevent any cakeyness. It also adds a more dewy look to my usually pretty matte foundation, which I welcomed.  I found it didn’t make my foundation last any longer. I feel like it could work well between your usual primer and before foundation, but I have never tried this.

As a mask, I found it was slightly moisterising, but it’s biggest effect was in the smoothing and plumping area. It made my skin look younger (I’m only 18, so please take that with a pinch of salt!) and a tad more radiant. But overall I found it pretty… bluh. It did work, but not to the extent that other moisterising/plumping/smoothing/radiance masks have done before, and I didn’t notice a tightening effect what so ever.

Overall, it’s a good product. Not great, I like it as a primer, but the idea of using it as a mask seems like something extra the marketers threw in, with the product itself not been specially formulated to act as one. It may have been, I just don’t feel like it doesn’t act like one. I probably wouldn’t repurchase, although I have enjoyed using it before my usual make-up routine. With such mixed reviews out there you may find this product to be a must-have, and a hugely important step in your routine – I just feel as though there’s something out there better suited for me.

Have you tried the Clarins Beauty Flash Balm? What did you think of it?

3 thoughts on “Clarins Beauty Flash Balm

Leave a Reply

