The Body Shop | Camomile Cleansing Oil v Cleansing Butter

The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil vs Camomile cleansing Butter

Is it just me or did 2014 not only be the year of lip liners (thanks Kylie!) but the year where the idea of double cleansing has really been pushed as the thing you must do, or else your skin will flake away and melt (simultaneously!) from your skull and you will break out in boils and never have nice skin ever again, ever? No? Well maybe I’ve been living under a rock, hiding away from the entire concept itself – but to me, this is the year I learned of the whole deal.

The idea is to use an oil based cleanser first, such as an oil or balm, to remove make-up and excess sebum from your skin, and then to follow with a water based cleanser, such as a milk, gel, or clay based product.

There are some great balms available on the market, such as those by Elemis, Emma Hardie and Clinique, the latter also offering an oil. For those of you who are budget beauty lovers, these may have just stretched out of what you’re willing to pay. That’s why when The Body Shop released their own, more affordable versions, both an oil and a balm, I knew it wouldn’t take long for me to snap them up.

As with all The Body Shop products, they have never been tested on animals, and their camomile is community fair trade, as well as having soothing and calming properties for those with sensitive skin.

I’ve been using both to test which is the best!

The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil vs Camomile cleansing Butter

The Silky Cleansing OIl is a very liquidy and runny oil which has a habit of slipping off your hands as you try and put them towards your face. When applied to a dry face, it does a good job of removing make-up and then turns white and milky as you add water to rinse it away. It is very moisturizing and almost refreshing to the skin, leaving it feeling hydrated, smooth and clean

At £10 for 200ml, (or £5/100ml) it is cheaper, and you get more product than the balm alternative, which retails at £12 for 90ml (£13.33/100ml) – and I also find it is longer lasting, with each usage making a less of a dent to the amount of product.

The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil vs Camomile cleansing Butter The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil vs Camomile cleansing Butter

The Sumptuous Cleansing Butter I refer to a balm, but I do think the term butter is more appropriate. It’s an oil which is solid at room temperature, which quickly melts as you massage it over a dry face (and even on your fingers as you take a scoop). As it transforms, it takes away your make-up with it. It’s incredibly gentle on your eyes and removes mascara in seconds – and then you simply wash it all away with water. I take mine off with a warm, soaked flannel for a little extra.

Like the oil, its very hydrating and softening, but I do find it can sometimes leave a film-like feel to your skin, although using a flannel/cloth – and double cleansing! – gets rid of this issue entirely.

For the sanitary conscious of you, the idea of scooping up the product on your fingers may be off-putting. I’m not bothered by it, my hands are freshly clean before I start my skincare regime anyway, and it’s only me using it. But for those as you who find this an issue may prefer the oil.

Personally, the butter/balm is the clear winner for me. It removes make-up slightly better, but the massaging and melting process is what sells it to me – I find the process incredibly relaxing. After the trial period was over for both product, I found myself reaching for the butter as the first step of my evening skincare every time – and the increased price in comparison to the oil is something I will continue to overlook. Even my little sister picked up a tub after she listened to me rave about it.

Have you tried anything from The Body Shop Camomile Range? Do you have any favourites?

5 thoughts on “The Body Shop | Camomile Cleansing Oil v Cleansing Butter

  1. Pingback: Evening Skincare | emfranced

  2. Pingback: Burt’s Bees Soap Bark and Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream | emfranced

Leave a Reply

