Review | Clarins Blue Orchid Face Treatment Oil

IMG_6076

One thing you need to remember when it comes to face oils is that they can be used on oily skin. This oil is aimed at those with normal, but dehydrated skin, not dry skin. The difference being that dehydrated skin is lacking moisture, dry skin is a lack of natural oil production. For that reason, this oil would work on dry skin. It would also work on oily, combination and normal skin which is lacking moisture.

There are other oils in the Clarins range directly aimed at oily/combination skin or dry skin, which you may find more suitable for your own skin type and a little bit less of a risk – but I have never tried them and can’t speak for them.

I originally tried the Blue Orchid Face Treatment Oil as a sample and I was nervous to say the least, I imagined that the next day my face would be an oil slick, my make-up pouring off my face and being down an entire pack of blotting papers.

Instead, my face was a bit more balanced. I found it didn’t really make much of a difference to the slighly oily parts of my face, but helped everything look much more smooth, radiant and a lot plumper. Bye-bye dry patches! I have been told that with a bit longer use of facial oils it can actually help minimize any excessive production by giving your skin the moisture it is lacking and over-compensating for, which is very exciting to me. I also found that since using this product my acne-prone skin hasn’t had a single breakout – although I’m not sure this product is the direct cause.

Of course, I had to get my hands on an actual bottle of the stuff.

As with most Clarins products, it has that wonderful relaxing and spa-like scent which I love. It really helps me feel like I’m getting ready and winding down for a good night sleep. To apply I take a few drops to the palms of my hands and rub together, before pressing into my skin.

It is made of 100% pure plant extracts, including “Rosewood, Patchouli and Blue Orchid to tone, revitalise and restore radiance to moisture-depleted skin. Hazelnut Oil helps prevent moisture loss and the formation of fine lines.” (x)

I definitely think this is going to be a cold weather skincare staple, and in the summer I imagine it would be brought out after a rough night or when my skin needs some TLC. I am incredibly glad I took the plunge and tried something which scared me so much before, my skin is thanking me for it.

2 thoughts on “Review | Clarins Blue Orchid Face Treatment Oil

Leave a Reply

