A Scent Flashback

FullSizeRender (2)

As a child it was just me and my mum. We lived together in our tiny semi-detached house being mother and daughter, and best friends, until the age of about 8…

I can remember always looking up to her. I can remember seeing all her lotions and potions over the kitchen sink and watching her do her make-up, these glossy cases with powders and creams that promised to make you beautiful.

Something that always stuck in my head was the scents she’d leave around the house as she got ready for bed. She’d come in to tuck me in on a night and when she left, my room would be filled with what I later learnt to be Eau Dynamisante by Clarins.

This is one of my favourite scents, and I have no doubt it’s because of the memories I have. It has been well documented that our sense of smell has the greatest link to memory.

Clarins notes it’s essential oils as Lemon, Patchouli, White Thyme, Petit grain and Rosemary.

The comfort and happiness this scent brings me has encouraged me to search for my signature scent. I want my friends, boyfriend, and family to be able to be reminded of the experiences we have had (and hopefully feel warmth, comfort and happiness just as I do) from a single big breath in.

Are there any scents that bring back memories for you? Do you have a signature scent?

Leave a Reply

